Championships of County Dublin 2021

Championships of County Dublin 2021

11th to 13th June.2021

Carrickmines croquet players returned to competitive action for the Championships of County Dublin. This open Tournament, held at Carrickmines, was reduced from 4 to 3 days because of Covid, but still included 5 events. The weather was great and a good time was had by all! Thanks particularly to Tournament Manager Simon Williams, and to Club President John Hunt who turned out for the first time in Presidential blazer to present (in a socially distanced manner) the trophies.

The finalists in the events were:

Championship Singles – Winner Danny Johnston (Newcastle), runner-up Sandy Greig.
Boxwell Cup – Winner Nicola Kelly, runner up Sandy Greig
Duff Matthews Cup – Winner David McGrath (Herbert Park), runner-up Nigel Werner.
Mirabeau Trophy – Winner Martin Gilmartin, runner up Tim Furlong.
Phantom Trophy – Winner Tony Allwright, runner-up Richard Whelan.
Plate Event – Winner Russell Harris (Newcastle).

(All Carrickmines unless otherwise stated)

Photo shows Danny Johnston with Sandy Greig and John Hunt

Dublin Championships winner 2021