Irish Masters Trophies Unveiled (Photo)

Irish Masters Trophies Unveiled (Photo)

The new Corbally trophies have kindly been presented by Nathaniel Healy to the Croquet Association of Ireland and await to be presented to the winners of the two divisions of the Irish Masters Championship.

The Division 1 award has been named the Cyril Corbally trophy and the Division 2 trophy has been named after Herbert Corbally, both players have contributed hugely to Croquet in Ireland.


Edwardian croquet was dominated by a group of brilliant Irish players, among them P. Duff Matthews, C. L. O'Callaghan and the Corbally brothers, Cyril and Herbert.
Cyril won the English Open Championship at his first attempt in 1902 and went on to win it a further 4 times in 6 attempts, although he only returned to play in England twice after the Great War. Many of his contemporaries considered him to be the supreme player of his generation. His brother Herbert, twice a Championship Cup player, was always prominent in the Irish Championships and Gold Medals during the same period
More on this subject can be learned from The History of croquet by D.M.C. Prichard.

Corbally Cups