Latest News

Irish Masters Trophies Unveiled (Photo)

The new Corbally trophies have kindly been presented by Nathaniel Healy to the Croquet Association of Ireland and await to be presented to the winners of the two divisions of the Irish Masters Championship.

The Division 1 award has been named the Cyril Corbally trophy and the Division 2 trophy has been named after Herbert Corbally, both players have contributed hugely to Croquet in Ireland.


Edwardian croquet was dominated by a group of brilliant Irish players, among them P. Duff Matthews, C. L.

Irish Open complete results

Singles Champion of Ireland( the Duff Mathews Perpetual Trophy) winner Simon Williams + 15, - 26TP, + 24TP
Runner up ( and winner of the The Leslie Webb Salver) Chris Patmore

Doubles Ch.

Annual General Meeting

A well attended Annual General Meeting of the Association was held at Carrickmines on 2nd August.
In his opening address the President, Robert Barklie, referred to the major events of 2007 being the hosting of the Women's World GC Championships and the establishment of the Junior match against the CA as the hight points.  He congratulated Council for re-establishing the relationship with the Irish Sports Council and looked forward to the unveiling of the strategic review later this month.  He also paid tribute to the late Michael Solomons, a founder member of Herbert Park CC, who passe

Andrew on Ireland AM - video clip

Today, 31st July, Andrew was on Ireland AM with Russell, Conor, Isaac and Mathew in support to discuss croquet and the start of the Irish Open on Saturday.
Click the play button in the centre to play the clip, or failing that click

ActiveX needs to be enabled on your web browser, to learn how to change your browser settings click here.

McWeeney Trophy Results ( CAI vs CA)

The annual match between the CAI and the CA for the McWeeney Trophy was played last weekend at Carrickmines on wonderful lawns.  Weather was dull on Saturday but glorious sunshine prevailed on Sunday.
The Irish team was Robert Barklie, Evan Newell, Nathaniel Healy(C), Ben Reeves Smith, Gerard Osborn Burke and Padraig Thornton.  Our opponents were captained by Chris Patmore, who bore the heavy burden of a non-playing role.  His team were Phil Cordingly, Paul Rigge, Peter McDermott, Milke Porter, Abdul Ahmed and Neill Kellet.

On Saturday we played three rounds of doubles.

Williams takes the outright lead in Division 1 of the Irish Masters Championship.

In a sun soaked and action packed day at Carrickmines CLTC, the Irish Masters event  began to hot up as it draws to its conclusion. With only a couple of rounds left before the finals, Simon Williams maintained his 100% record by dispatching Conor Broderick and Gerard Healy during the week (the latter with a TPO and a sextuple peel). He then promptly beat Andrew Johnston in two games on Sunday.

The Team for the McWeeney Trophy

The team to play the CA on 26/27 July in Carrickmines is as follows:-Robert Barklie 0,Evan Newell 0,Nathaniel Healy 0,
Ben Reeves Smith 3,Gerard Osborne Burke 9,Padraig Thornton 7

2008 South Leinster Result

The S. Leinster Open was held at Newcastle on Sunday - the first completely dry day in several weeks.  There were only 5 entries, so a single block was played with Gerrad Healy the eventual winner.
In the morning Simon Williams took a commanding position with plus26tp wins over Jane Shorten and Campbell Morrison.  In his game against Nathaniel he went for a quintuple peg out and completed all the peels but missed the rush after Rover.
After luch the lawns became considerably faster, leading to much overrunning of hoop approaches - lunch itself may also have played a part in this!